Kimunya, 3 Other Jubilee MPs Named to House Business Committee

By Laban Wanambisi

Nairobi — The National Assembly on Wednesday approved the nomination of Kipipiri MP and former Finance Minister Amos Kimunya, Meru County Woman Representative Kawira Mwangaza and two others to represent the Jubilee Party in the crucial House Business Committee.

The nominees were approved during the morning sitting which was largely attended by the Jubilee MPs as their NASA counterparts walked out in order to attend their Parliamentary Group meeting.

Other Jubilee nominees to the powerful housekeeping committee are Kitutu Masaba MP Shadrack John Mose and Turkana County Woman Representative Joyce Akai Emanikor.

The Minority side led by ODM Chairman and Suba South MP John Mbadi and Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa – who served as the Minority Deputy Whip in the 11th Parliament – had pleaded with the House Speaker Justin Muturi to defer debate on the matter until the afternoon sitting when they would submit their nominees.

“I am requesting that let us start this House on the spirit of teamwork. When you look at the acronym of TEAM, it means Together Everyone Achieves More. As the Jubilee side tries to achieve more, the NASA side also wants to achieve more. So let us legislate together for the benefit of Kenyans,” Wamalwa pleaded.

During the debate for the adoption of the seven member team chaired by the Speaker, MPs Adan Keynan (Eldas), Cecil Mbarire (Nominated), Charles Kilonzo (Yatta) and Majority Coalition Whip Benjamin Washiali (Mumias East) lauded the mix of the old and new MPs, saying the House will be the beneficiary.

“All of us here know who Amos Kimunya is. He was a Deputy Leader of House Business in this very House; there is no doubt that with the experience they gained in the 9th and 10th Parliament, he will be able to do a good job,” Mbarire who is the Deputy Majority Leader told the House as she supported the nominations.

“I am happy to see that my friend Kawira, who we are both elected as Independents has also been considered for a seat in the powerful committee,” Kathuri Murungi stated.

Washiali added: “As the part of the House leadership, I can attest that the names presented before this House were carefully selected so that they represent the face of Kenya.”

The House Business Committee is appointed within seven days on assembly of a new House and is charged with the responsibility to prepare and adjust the parliamentary calendar with the approval of the House.

The committee which is chaired by the Speaker also takes decisions and issues directives and guidelines to priorities or postpone any business of the House, acting with the concurrence of the Leader of the Majority Party or the Leader of the Minority Party.


Duale to Seek MPs Approval of Sh11.5 Billion for Poll

Majority Leader in the National Assembly Aden Duale says he will be requesting MPs to approve the release of Sh11.5… Read more »

See original article here:  

Kimunya, 3 Other Jubilee MPs Named to House Business Committee

Метки: , , , , , , , ,

Short URL:

Posted by on Sep 14 2017. Filed under Kenya. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Subscribe To Our Mailing List

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )

Featured Links

    Search Archive

    Search by Date
    Search by Category
    Search with Google
    Log in | Designed by Gabfire themes